How to bet on formula one

August 04 2021

Unlike football or tennis, Boxing does not offer a variety of betting markets but that does not

Formula One or also known as F1 is a highly watched motorsport worldwide with over 80 million viewers watching Grand Prix championships online as of 2020. 

History of Formula 1

Formula 1 dates back to the 1920s and ’30s in England and later on in 1946, a number of set rules were put forward but due to world war II, the world driver’s championship was formalized in 1947 and the first world championship race was inaugurated in 1950 at the Silverstone, UK. However, the first world championship inclusive of the motor constructors was in 1983.

Formula 1 is a reputable motor racing sport for single-seater specifically designed racing cars that are approved by FIA( Federation Internationale de l’Automobile formerly known as the World Drivers’ Championship and these races take place on prebuilt circuits that are closed to the general public.

The formula 1 name is derived from the formula which embodies the set of rules that are set for the participants’ to conform to.

The biggest constructive race car manufacturers (known as constructors) include Mercedes, Ferrari, Honda, Renault and Pirelli, Aston Martin, Alpine and McLaren just to name a few that correspond with the participants to compete and win a race.

Some of the most known race drivers include: Lewis Hamilton, Max Verstappen, Lando Norris, Valtteri Bottas, Sergio Perez, Carlos Sainz and Sebastian Vettel


Formula 1 Championship 

 The formula 1 championship involves a series of formula one races held. A formula 1 season that always starts in March annually consists of about 21 grand prix held in various circuits around the world with 11 teams participating with 2 cars each.

The formula 1 race is held during a weekend after 3 qualifying races plus one final race.

The scoring in formula 1 is awarded as follows:

  • 25 formula 1 point to the winner per Grand Prix race (who finishes first)
  • 18 formula 1 point to the second race driver 
  • 15 points to the third person in tow
  • The points keep reducing up to the 10th position

After all the 21 Grand Prix races, the driver with the most number of points is awarded the FIA Formula 1 World Driver’s Championship.

The Formula 1 season usually starts from Australia Melbourne and marks its end in Abu Dhabi.

Some of the most popular circuits where Grand Prix are held 


Circuit de Monaco (Monaco Grand Prix)

This circuit takes residence in Monte Carlo, Monaco and a Grand Prix were first held there in 1929 and it has a total distance of 260.2 kilometers which is one of the shortest distances in formula 1.


Marina Bay Grand Prix in Singapore

This Grand Prix was first held in 2008 in Singapore and the circuit has a total distance of 308.8-kilometers which registers as one of the longest circuits in formula 1.


Silverstone Grand Prix

The Silverstone Grand Prix was the first Formula 1 race in its modern era in 1950 and it’s held at the Silverstone circuit at the Northampton shire, England. The circuit has a total distance of 306.2 kilometers.


The Red Bull Ring Grand Prix

This Grand Prix is held at Spielberg, Austria and it was inaugurated in 1970 and has a total distance of 307.1 kilometers.


Interlagos Grand Prix

The Interlagos Grand Prix is held in Sao Paulo, Brazil with cars running a total distance of 305.9-kilometers.


Albert Park Grand Prix

This Grand Prix is officially held in Melbourne, Australia and it's usually the first of the formula 1 season.

First held in 1996, its circuit has a total distance of 307.5-kilometers.


Spa-Francorchamps Grand Prix

First held in 1925 in the spa, Belgium, the Spa-Francorchamps is one of the top grand Prix races you shouldn’t miss out on with a lot of Dutch fans that flock the border to watch on.


Monza Grand Prix

The Monza Grand Prix dates back to the 1920s with Italy being where it resides. The Monza Grand Prix is known to be a Ferrari ground with most of the fans rooting for a Ferrari driver to win the race.


Yas Marina Grand Prix

The Yas Marina is held at one of the most sought-after luxurious destinations Abu Dhabi. This Grand Prix is the final Grand Prix of the Formula 1 season and marks the crowning of the latest world champion.


Where to live stream the Formula 1 races?

It’s no surprise that watching the formula 1 race is adrenaline-pumping and very exciting so where can you watch the formula 1 race live? You can watch some super sports channels on DSTV or Govt or Star times.


How to Bet On Formula1

Unlike other sports where there are two teams rivaling or 2 or 4individuals battling it out, formula1 is quite different and overwhelming with over 10 teams participating so some of the most famous betting types like home and away do not conform to Formula 1.

Over the years, the sport has been known to be much more predictable but this does not occur 100% of the time, you just need to carry out research and tend to fend off tipsters which will profit you in the long run.


Latest News

Horse Race Betting Strategy for Beginners
August 04 2021
Top Horse Racing Betting Markets or Types Explained
August 04 2021
Understanding the most common types of horse racing
August 04 2021

Contact Us

Have a question about our Products? We are here to help!


Write us